East Bay Inn's Ghost
Step back in time at this historic inn and indulge in a little eerie fun. East
Bay Inn was built in 1852, just steps away from the dark waters of the Savannah
River. Guests have often reported seeing the inn's ghost, affectionately named
"Charley" by the staff. In 2001, a guest captured Charley's image in a
History of the East Bay Inn
The story of The East Bay Inn began September 7, 1762, when the land on which
the Inn now stands was granted to Mr. John Tucker by the Crown of England. Over
the next ninety years, the property changed hands several times. On June 17,
1852, Edward Padefford purchased the property and began construction on the
building that would one day become the East Bay Inn.
The simple design of the building, with its tall windows and elegant brickwork,
echoes the Greek Revival Style, which was popular in Savannah around the time of
the Civil War. As typical with most commercial buildings of the period, the
facade of the first floor is cast iron. The interior columns are also cast iron
and can still be seen in the lobby and guest rooms.
Cotton was king during this plentiful era of Savannah, and offices for cotton
merchants (Factors, as they were called) and cotton warehouses were located
within the building. By the late 1800's, additional tenants included a steam
bakery in the 1860s and foreign consul offices in the 1880s. During this time,
cotton and grocery warehouses continued to be located on the lower levels of the
building. The third floor housed a lodge meeting hall.
1910 saw the last of the cotton merchants located here, as U.S. cotton sales
were on the decline. In 1920, the Columbia Drug Company started their reign as
the longest tenant occupying the building.
From 1965 to 1983, this building—along with many in downtown Savannah— stood
vacant. The 1980s saw a renewed interest in the historic preservation of the
city, and in 1983 the building was purchased again. The history-filled structure
was immediately renovated from a derelict old building into the East Bay Inn.
Reconstruction was completed in 1984.
Today, the Inn boasts 28 charming guest rooms, a lovely parlor, a popular
underground restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. As tradition and
history greet you, we hope your stay at the East Bay Inn will be as delightful
and charming as our Hostess City of the South.