Bullock Hotel in Deadwood,
The Bullock Hotel is a Deadwood Treasure. Experience the history and elegance of
Deadwood's first hotel. All are unique and have been painstakingly restored to
the original details that Seth Bullock first envisioned. This hotel have the
perfect accommodations for leisure guests or family weekend getaways!
Ghost of the Bullock Hotel
The hotel was founded by Seth Bullock, Deadwood's first sheriff, and he has
never left. His ghost walks the halls. Bullock was sheriff in the 1870s and died
here in 1919 but was never really laid to rest. He was the sheriff "whose gaze
could stop fights." Since then, nearly three dozen people have seen his ghost.
These include guests, employees, and managers of the hotel.
History of the Bullock Hotel
Seth Bullock and Sol Star saw opportunities in Deadwood other than gold when
they moved their hardware store from Helena, Montana in 1876. When the
devastating fire of 1879 destroyed their building, they rebuilt with a two-story
wood-frame store that included a fire-proof warehouse in back. Unfortunately,
the business burned again in 1894, leaving nothing but the brick warehouse
standing at the rear of the building.
Changing tactics, Bullock and Star then decided to build Deadwood's finest hotel
over the original store and warehouse. Hauling in native pink and white
sandstone from Andrew's Quarry in Boulder Canyon, the work of building the
Italianate style hotel began. When it was complete it boasted a restaurant that
could seat 100 people and offered such delicacies as pheasant and lobster. The
large lobby featured red velvet carpeting, brass chandeliers, oak trim and a
Steinway grand piano. Upstairs, the 63 rooms were furnished with oak dressers
and brass beds, each floor had a bathroom, and a library and parlor were located
off the balcony. The grand opening was held in April, 1896. In no time at all,
the hotel was the most sought after luxury hotel of its time. In 1900 a small
building that adjoined the hotel on the South was obtained by Bullock which
served as the Gentlemen's Bar.
The pair sold the hotel to George Ayres in 1904, who operated a hardware store
on the main floor, and continued to operate the Hotel as the Hoizner until 1919.
Later it was called the Ayres Hotel.
In the 1990's, the hotel was completely restored, including the massive
staircase and skylights, and continues to greet guests today. Thanks to Legends
of America for this information.
633 Main Street
Deadwood, SD 57732